Accredited Villages

Moving into a retirement village is a huge decision to make, not only for the future village resident, but also the entire extended family.

It’s important for all residents that they have true peace of mind, and that the community and new home they decide to move into has everything  you require.

To assist current and potential retirement village residents, the Retirement Living Council and BSI Australia developed the Lifemark Village Scheme in 2013.

What is Lifemark?

The Lifemark Village Scheme is a new and improved accreditation program for retirement living communities, replacing a previous industry accreditation scheme. Villages that receive Lifemark certification will have met 26 rigorous standards to ensure residents have a quality village experience.

What are the Lifemark standards?

The 26 Lifemark standards are divided into six categories of performance:

  • Will residents enjoy the village lifestyle and do they have a say in decision making?
  • Will residents receive the support and information they need from the village?
  • Are the village’s staff and volunteers meeting resident needs?
  • Do residents feel safe and secure within the village?
  • Are the village’s rules and regulations up to the required standard?
  • Does the village have a comprehensive policy to deal with disputes and maintenance?

The standards contained within the Lifemark Village Scheme are higher than any previous retirement village accreditation scheme and are also higher than many requirements of the law, so you can be assured that a Lifemark village will provide a quality experience.

Who evaluates villages to ensure they meet the standards?

An experienced auditing and certification organisation, BSI Australia, will be conducting the accreditation audits and issuing the Lifemark stamp to successful villages after an independent and vigorous evaluation. Lifemark accreditation lasts for three years.

How will I know if villages maintain their standards after receiving Lifemark accreditation?

BSI will conduct a “surveillance audit” on villages 18 months after their initial certification, to ensure that all the standards are still being met as required.

How can I spot a Lifemark village?

Only Lifemark villages are allowed to display the Lifemark logo at their village, on their website or on their other materials. Feel free to ask your village if they are accredited under Lifemark  when making an initial inquiry.

Lifemark accredited retirement village operators

Alchera Living (WA)
Australian Unity (NSW and VIC)
Aveo (National)
Beauty Point Retirement Resort (NSW)
Bethanie (WA)
Buxton Group, trading as Rylands of Brighton (VIC)
Garden Village Port Macquarie (NSW)
Lendlease (National)
Living Choice (NSW, QLD and SA)
Novacare Lifestyle Village (WA)
Pascoe Vale Gardens (VIC)
Point Cook Village (VIC)
Renaissance Living Surrey Hills (VIC)
Rivervue by Tigcorp (VIC)
Royal Australian Air Force Association – WA Division (WA)
RSL Care (NSW and QLD)
St Louis Estate (WA)
Stockland (National)
The Connault (VIC)
The Manor – Batemans Bay Retirement Village (NSW)
Transport Friendly Society (VIC)